Doors to Dreamland

My Home Made Headboard

I wanted to create a different and artistic headboard for my bedroom. I love the antique and rustic feel of taking old materials and making them into something else. I was at garage sales for weeks and on the hunt until I finally found two very old and very heavy antique doors. I knew right away they were perfect! I then sanded the doors and painted them a dark red color that matches my bedroom.  After the paint dried, I applied crackle medium that you can purchase at your home improvement store and then applied a clear finish.  The clear finish is important as the paint can crack off entirely without it!

For many different crackling techniques, visit Michael’s website, a home craft store. They have instructions for applying the paint in various ways to get the exact type of crackling you desire for your project.

Crackle paint gives an authentic antique feel.

After the paint dried, I screwed on wall mounts so I could properly attach the doors to the wall and did not have any worry about it falling. With the doors hung and the bed made, my bedroom has the exact feel and decor I originally planned. (My finished project is featured above.)

Blissful Begonia's fabric headboard

Headboards do not always have to be attached to the bed frame. Let your creativity run wild and think of something unique!

One of my favorite projects that is inexpensive and cheap to produce is a fabric headboard. With plywood cut to your bed size, matting, and a matching fabric pattern for the room, you can create a stylish headboard. Blissful Begonia has a tutorial on how to make this interesting and fun piece. I also love the picket fence headboard from HGTV.com! It would look darling for a little girl’s princess room.

How have you decorated your room? Did you create something different with the headboard?

Leave a comment

Filed under Create-It-Yourself Project, decorating

Leave a Reply

